Penshurst School Logo

School Calendar

July 2019
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4

Organisation of the School

The School is divided into four classes: Foundation (Years R and 1); Year 2; Year 3 & 4; and Year 5 & 6.

At the beginning of each school year, each class chooses a name for itself and keeps this for the year. In 2018/19 our classes are named after mathematicians, as follows:

Foundation:    Newton
Year 1 and 2:  Pythagoras
Year 3 and 4:  Archimedes
Year 5 and 6:  Fibonacci  
You can click on the class pages on the drop-down menu to find out more information about each class.

Every child belongs to one of three School Houses, named for historical Penshurst figures: Sidney, Hardinge and Drummond. This House system strengthens community life and provides an opportunity to celebrate achievements and success through house points and achievement cups.

A distinct advantage of a small school like Penshurst is the opportunity it gives for individuals to take part in activities representing both themselves and the School. This develops children's confidence and raises their self-esteem. We celebrate children's achievements outside School as well, displaying these on our Bee Proud Board.

The Curriculum

The Beginning 
Our priority is to make the transition into the School as smooth as possible. To this end, new entrants have three visits to the School in the summer, and the Reception teacher visits the children's pre-schools and homes.

Once in School, the children follow a curriculum which emphasises the three Prime Areas of:
  • Communication and Language Development
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

and provides good coverage of the four Specific Areas of Learning, which are:

  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Knowledge and Understanding of the World
  • Art and Design

Children are continually assessed, and progress from the first six weeks is measured using the Early Excellence Scheme.

From Year 1, we follow the National Curriculum for England, which includes:

  • English 
  • Maths
  • Science
  • Art and Design
  • Computing
  • Design Technology
  • Citizenship
  • Geography
  • History
  • Languages (French)
  • Music
  • PE

The full National Curriculum can be found here National Curriculum. The Curriculum also includes Religious Education, and for this we follow the Rochester Diocesan syllabus (click here for more information Rochester Diocese).

The work in each class is planned around a series of termly topics. The topics are organised to cover as many curriculum areas as possible. Research shows that young children learn best when subjects are interlinked rather than being taught discretely.

Progress through the National Curriculum is assessed and reported to parents in November, February and June. Children in Year 2 and Year 6 have external SATs tests set by the DfE.